A New World

obstacle courseAs part of an assignment of the Element of Line, students create an obstacle course of yarn for the next class.

Finding a new world is always exciting and disconcerting. When I left my old school, I left a certain amount of security. I was know there and had formed relationships both with admin, students and other teachers. Here, I began all over, not really knowing anyone. Here, having only a vague idea of whom my students might be. Here, being redefined by new students and events. It is disconcerting, but always exciting, nevertheless.

I’d rather take the time to write a blog, than be on Facebook. Facebook often becomes a bunch of gossip, or cold. A place where people sort of interact, but repetitiously.  In school, every day is new, no day ever is duplicated, even when it has a familiar feel. In school, we are always moving towards the last day, even on the first day. There are so many variables, we never really know what detours upon the road we go. But even the detours force us to interact, to become more flexible, more interested, more.

My experience with my new school began in June, when I knew I needed to detour from the direction my path was going. I knew, as much as I loved my old school, I wanted smaller. I knew as used to the kids as I was, I wanted more teaching time with students. I knew as comfortable as I was, I was no longer comfortable being there.

As I cleaned out my room, which became an art disaster area during the last quarter, I began to respond to schools that advertised for teachers.  Most of the other teachers had finished up a week before. I got a call from one school, and the interview was not what I wanted. I got a another call at home, I responded that evening to the AP at home.

The interview took place two days later. It ended with the principal asking, “How soon can you give me an answer on taking this job?”

Leave a Reply

